Oxford Centre for European History

OCEH logo

The Oxford Centre for European History (OCEH), based in Oxford University’s History Faculty, was set up in 1999 to generate new and exciting research projects in European and British history from

the Renaissance to the present, to build collaborations and research networks with research institutes and universities in the UK, Europe and worldwide, to provide opportunities for research collaboration and facilities for Visiting Researchers, and to train new generations of research students in the field of modern European and British History. 

The OCEH is supported by around forty leading historians at Oxford, from which it draws its management committee. This is headed by the Chair, Professor Giuseppe Marcocci, and the Centre's Research Director, Professor David Priestland.


Research Aims

The OCEH has established research networks with other universities and research institutes from Princeton to Sydney. It was part of EurHistXX - European Network of Contemporary History, funded by the French CNRS, which linked a dozen major historical research centres in Europe, and led to the publication of the volume Europe's Postwar Periods - 1989, 1945, 1918: Writing History Backwards, edited by Martin Conway, Pieter Lagrou, and Henry Rousso (Bloomsbury, 2018).

The OCEH encourages international collaboration between research students through annual graduate workshops held in conjunction with the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan, Paris, the Université Libre de Bruxelles, the Humboldt University, Berlin, and the University of Padua, with Geneva University, with Mainz University, and with Sciences Po-Paris. Through the OCEH, the University of Oxford is also involved in the Graduate Conference in European History (GRACEH) Consortium.

Seminars and Events

This centre has a number of seminars and events that run throughout the year. To see when these will next be running, please check the following pages:

The OCEH has modest funds to support projects within its remit. As a rule, grants range from GBP 100-500, although larger amounts may be granted in exceptional cases. Applications should take the form of a letter specifying the purpose, aims and objectives of the requested funds; the number of expected participants; and whether funding has been received and/or applied for from other sources. An itemized budget and curriculum/a vitae of the chief applicant/s should be attached. Please note that OCEH will not financially support ongoing events.

Please email your application to oceh@history.ox.ac.uk 



Please click here to see events and seminars at TORCH, The Oxford Research Centre in the Humanities.

Related Centres and Projects
Visiting Researchers

The Centre welcomes expressions of interest from postdoctoral scholars and senior academics who are working in areas related to its own research interests. Academic Visitors are provided with research facilities, and encouraged to participate in seminars & workshops and contribute to the intellectual and social life of the Faculty during their visit. Visits would normally last between a term and one academic year.   

Prospective applicants should complete the form below. 


Research Students

We do not participate in co-tutelle arrangements, and there are only limited opportunities for History graduates who are currently enrolled in another institution to come to Oxford on a short-term visit:

Recognised Student Status - This status is given to (a) graduate research students registered with another university and admitted by an Oxford faculty to undertake research for their degree for a minimum of one and maximum of three terms; and (b) to early career researchers admitted to work with an Oxford academic. It does not involve membership of a College or an Oxford qualification. If this is the status you need, please do not fill in the OCEH Academic Visitor Application Form, but instead apply for admission as a Recognised Student via the form here. Please note that we do not require support from our Head of Department to be included with your application.

Erasmus   - check whether your institution participates in this.

Cachan exchange – this is particularly suitable for students working on French history post 1789. 


Expand All


Dr Alexa Stiller, University of Bern, Switzerland

Dr Wendy Wiertz, KU Leuven, Belgium



Dr Alessandro Saluppo, University of Padua, Italy

Dr Kerstin Weiand, Philipps University, Marburg, Germany

Dr Ana Valdez, University of Évora, Portugal

Dr Ingrid J J De Zwarte, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Mara Donato Di Paola, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

Dr Marie Houllemare, Université de Picardie Jules Verne, France

Dr Ronald Kroeze, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Dr Benjamin Möckel, Universität zu Köln, Germany

Dr Tobias Straumann, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Dr Ian Tregenza, Macquarie University, Australia

Prof Jeppe Nevers, University of Southern Denmark

Dr Francisco Malta Romeiras, University of Lisbon, Portugal



Dr Ana Valdez, University of Évora, Portugal

Dr Stuart Sweeney, Independent Scholar

Clément Claret, Sciences Po - Centred'Études Européennes, France



Dr Robert Saunders, Queen Mary University of London 

Prof Taku Eriguchi, Seinan Gakuin University, Japan

Dr Xu Zhiqiang, Yangzhou University, China

Dr Andrea Franc, University of Basel, Switzerland

Prof Giulia Albanese, University of Padua, Italy

Dr Vittoria Feola, University of Padua, Italy

Dr Steven L.B. Jensen, Danish Institute for Human Rights, Denmark 

Prof Renee Poznanski, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Dr Andrew Buchanan, University of Vermont, USA

Dr Einar Wigen, University of Oslo, Norway

Dr Eric Storm, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Dr Søren Feldtfos Thomsen, Aarhus University, Denmark

Dr Doron Avraham, Bar Ilan University, Israel

Dr Yaacov Falkov, Tel-Aviv University, Israel



Prof Paul Shore, University of Manitoba, Canada

Dr Gonzalo Butron, University of Cadiz, Spain

Dr Johanna Rainio-Niemi, University of Helsinki, Finland

Dr Kim Christiaens, Leuven Centre for Global Governance Studies, Belgium

Dr Atina Nihtinen (2014-2015), Abo Akademi University, Finland



Mr Valentin Wendebourg, University of Goettingen, Germany

Dr Giulia Albanese, University of Padua, Italy

Dr Juan Pablo Domínguez Fernández, University of Navarra, Spain

Ms Laia Portet, Universitat Pompeu i Fabra, Spain